### **National Center for Immunization & Respiratory Diseases**



# Introduction to Meningococcal Vaccines Session

### Jamie Loehr, MD

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices April 16, 2025

### 3 Terms of Reference

- GSK Pentavalent (MenABCWY) Vaccine
- MenQuadfi Use in Infants
- Adolescent Schedule Change

### 3 Terms of Reference

- GSK Pentavalent (MenABCWY) Vaccine
  - Licensure: February 14, 2025
  - ACIP Vote: April 16, 2025 (today)
- MenQuadfi Use in Infants
  - Licensure: May 2025 (anticipated)
  - ACIP Vote: June 2025 (anticipated)
- Adolescent Schedule Change
  - WG deliberations ongoing

# **Today**

- GSK Pentavalent (MenABCWY) Vaccine: Update of EtR and Work Group Considerations
- Updates to Meningococcal Vaccines VFC Resolution
- Introduction to MenQuadfi Label Change for Infants
- MenQuadfi in Infants: Safety and Immunogenicity
- Work Group Considerations Regarding MenQuadfi in Infants

# **Today**

- GSK Pentavalent (MenABCWY) Vaccine: Update of EtR and Work Group Considerations
- Updates to Meningococcal Vaccines VFC Resolution
  - VOTE (including VFC Vote)
- Introduction to MenQuadfi Label Change for Infants
- MenQuadfi in Infants: Safety and Immunogenicity
- Work Group Considerations Regarding MenQuadfi in Infants

### **GSK Pentavalent Vaccine**

- After immunogenicity data presented to ACIP, Bexsero (comparator) label changed from 0, ≥1 month to 0, 6 months
- Longer intervals between vaccine doses associated with higher immunogenicity
  - As a result, pentavalent now has comparatively lower immunogenicity than MenB
- Some data points in label have also been updated
- WG members voiced need for ACIP to review updated data in consideration of vote, although WG recommendation has not changed

# **ACIP Meningococcal Vaccines Work Group**

#### **ACIP Members on the WG**

- Jamie Loehr (Chair)
- Charlotte Moser

#### **Ex Officio WG Members**

- Margaret Bash (FDA)
- Xin-Xing Gu (NIH)

#### **WG Liaisons and Consultants**

- Amra Resic (AAFP)
- Mary Healy (AAP)
- Barb Fluty (ACHA)
- Karyn Lyons (AIM)
- Stephanie Schauer (AIM)
- Paul Cieslak (CSTE)
- Kathy Hsu (IDSA)
- Joseline Zafack (NACI)
- Jeff Goad (NFID)
- Jessica Cataldi (PIDS)
- Amy Middleman (SAHM)
- Kathy Poehling (Wake Forest)
- Lynn Bahta (Minnesota Department of Health)
- David Stephens (Emory)

## Acknowledgements

#### **CDC Contributors**

- Sarah Schillie (DBD/NCIRD) Meningococcal Lead
- Jennifer Collins (DBD/NCIRD) Hib Lead
- Lucy McNamara (DBD/NCIRD)
- Avnika Amin (DBD/NCIRD)
- LeAnne Fox (DBD/NCIRD)
- Susan Hariri (DBD/NCIRD)
- Amy Rubis (DBD/NCIRD)
- Jenny Thomas (DBD/NCIRD)
- Noele Nelson (DBD/NCIRD)
- Alison Albert (DBD/NCIRD)
- Shelby Miller (DBD/NCIRD)
- Michael Williams (DBD/NCIRD)
- Michelle Hughes (DBD/NCIRD)
- Madhura Vachon (DBD/NCIRD)
- Gabrielle Cooper (DBD/NCIRD)
- Xiaoyu Dong (ISD/NCIRD)
- Andrew Leidner (ISD/NCIRD)
- Katherine Lean (DBD/NCIRD)
- Ismael Ortega-Sanchez (CORVD/NCIRD)
- Jonathan Duffy (DHQP/NCEZID)
- Pedro Moro (DHQP/NCEZID)
- Tanya Myers (DHQP/NCEZID)
- Madeleine Valier (ISD/NCIRD)
- Sam Graitcer (ISD/NCIRD)
- Leslie Lee (OD/NCIRD)
- Manisha (Mo) Patel (OD/NCIRD)
- Jessica MacNeil (ACIP Secretariat)
- Hannah Rosenblum (ACIP Secretariat)
- Melinda Wharton (ACIP Secretariat)